DFG Research Group “Political communication in the Online World”: Aim. Strategy. Programme

 

The research group “Political communication in the online world” has taken up its work in the spring of 2011 – as the first DFG research group in communication studies and as the first to deal with questions of political communication. It consists of seven subprojects and combines the work of ten communication scholars from Germany and Switzerland. They have developed a mission statement for internal and external information.

 

Aim: What is the research group supposed and designed to do?

 

Explore fundamental questions of political communication in the online world!

The focus is on research. The central aim is the systematic search for answers to the research group’s guiding question: In what way can political communication be proven to change due to online media and what consequences does this have on politics?
The research group tries to answer this question with the help of empirical projects in which theoretical approaches to political communication research in the field of online media are examined and modified. The research group wants to build up a modularized theory of online political communication by the gradual integration of those subprojects. To achieve this, individual theoretical elements will be combined into an explanatory model that has been empirically tested. Linking micro, meso and macro perspectives will be one main focus. The research group’s ultimate task is to analyze, with the help of such a theory, in how far political changes can be ascribed to a change in the media. In doing so, it will also contribute to strengthening the German communication science community’s position within the framework of international scientific communication.

 

Qualify for research!

The research group is one of the places where young academics are qualified for international political communication studies – in the form of doctoral and professorial dissertations. Qualification mainly takes place in empirical research for the individual projects. In addition, a qualification programme is offered which is adapted to the circumstance of regional spread as well as the needs of the Ph. D. candidates.

 

Research cooperation!

Furthermore, the research group will, in and through their work, develop a pattern for organizing cooperative research under conditions where participants and resources are regionally spread – as a prototype for cooperative research in smaller disciplines. This is meant to yield conclusions for research organization.

 

Strategy: How does the research group want to reach its aims and what are its guiding ideas in doing so?

 

Integration on six levels is the path to success that the research group has chosen in view of the conditions they are working under and their research ethical principles. They see potential for development for the individual projects as well as for the research group as a whole in each of these integration processes.

  • Integration of analytical perspectives: The research group sees itself as one of the centres of the communication scientific part of political communication studies and is closely linked to political science. It combines different perspectives under which online political communication can be examined, namely micro, meso and macro perspectives. The guiding idea behind this is that the perspectives are fundamentally on a par. The research group is aware of the necessity of examining the common question with different approaches.
  • Integration of methods: The research group combines highly and hardly standardized empirical methods. The guiding idea behind this is that methodological pluralism is required for understanding complex communicative processes. However, the research group also emphasizes the necessity of general methodological standards for the social sciences, and in particular the rule that all methods must guarantee that the results are intersubjectively valid.
  • Integration of established researchers and young academics: The research group is comprised of researchers who have long years of experience, scholars who have not long ago made their first steps in independent research and academics who will be qualified to do independent research in the framework of the research group. The guiding idea here is the concept of the equality of the participants in a scientific discourse in which nothing but the better argument should be the decisive factor. In a rapidly changing field like online communication it is of particular importance that digital immigrants and digital natives work together.
  • Integration into international scientific communication: The research group has its roots in German-speaking countries and will also have its focus there in the future. At the same time, it will also establish a network of international cooperation partners and is geared towards international scientific communication. The guiding idea behind this is that scientific communication is inter-national, i.e. that it depends on the variety of national contexts.
  • Integration of locations: The research group keeps its various locations connected with the help of a complex communication structure, in which communication via web-based platforms and simultaneous presence at conferences are combined. The guiding idea here is the acceptance of regional spread. This opens up the chance of integrating different local conditions into their work, e.g. cooperating with different disciplines at the respective universities and attracting young academics from different disciplinary cultures.
  • Integration of coordination and independence: The research group knows about the advantages a research group offers. It is only by coordination that the added value of joint research can be realized. However, the individual researchers’ freedom needs to be maintained as well. The guiding idea is that a productive research network needs both strong knots and strong links.

 

 

Programme: What is planned to be finished when?

 

The research group has converted its integration strategy into a programme in which reaching the aim is planned in two phases.

In the phase of theory testing 2011 – 2014 the research group will examine whether the traditional theoretical approaches of communication studies and related disciplines are suitable for an analysis of the online world. It will record theories, methods and empirical findings in an inventory and indicate which connections exist between the analytical elements.
Towards the end of this first phase, members of the research group will document their work in project-specific publications and contributions to international conferences. They will also be able to show that the qualification theses are coming along. So the research group believes that, in three years’ time, it will have reached a point where they will have made good use of their time and have results to show for it in both subprojects and the group as a whole. This will also be verified at the annual internal conferences, which will serve as milestones. At the end of this phase, at the end of the year 2013, the research group will undergo an assessment of its work, on the basis of which the decision about a continuation of the project until 2017 will be made.

 

At the end of the second phase, the phase of theory construction 2014 – 2017, the concept of a modularized theory of political communication will be specified and substantiated. For this, it is not only required that work on the individual subprojects will be completed and documented in articles and qualification theses, but it is also necessary to integrate the various individual findings into an overall picture of online political communication. This will make it possible to give empirically tested answers to the guiding question. Based on a fundamental evaluation of its way of organizing research, the relationship between effort and results in this form of research organization can also be assessed.
In the spring of 2017, a decision will have to be made as to whether and how the work of the research group should be continued. In principle, the research group sees itself as a hub of cooperative research even after 2017. This prospect will have to be specified between the first and second phases of this project.

DFG-Forschergruppe „Politische Kommunikation in der Online-Welt“: Ziel. Strategie. Programm

 

Im Frühjahr 2011 hat die Forschergruppe „Politische Kommunikation in der Online-Welt“ ihre Arbeit aufgenommen – als erste DFG-Forschergruppe in der Kommunikationswissenschaft und als erste zu Problemen der politischen Kommunikation. Sie setzt sich aus sieben Teilprojekten zusammen und verbindet zehn Kommunikationswissenschaftler aus Deutschland und der Schweiz.  Sie hat für die interne und externe Orientierung ein Mission Statement formuliert.

 

Ziel: Was soll und will die Forschergruppe?

 

Grundlagen der politischen Kommunikation in der Online-Welt erforschen!

Im Mittelpunkt steht die Forschung. Zentrales Ziel ist die systematische Suche nach Antworten auf die leitende Frage der Forschergruppe: Wie verändert sich nachweislich die politische Kommunikation durch Online-Medien und welche politischen Folgen hat das?
Die Forschergruppe beantwortet diese Frage durch empirische Projekte, in denen theoretische Ansätze der politischen Kommunikationsforschung im Feld der Online-Medien geprüft und modifiziert werden. Durch die Integration dieser Teilprojekte will die Forschergruppe in mehreren Schritten zu einem Verbund von Theorien zum Wandel der politischen Kommunikation gelangen. Dafür solle auch geprüft werden, in welchem Maße diese einzelnen theoretischen Ansätze zu übergreifenden Erklärungsmustern kombiniert werden können. Vor allem geht es darum, Mikro-, Meso- und Makroperspektive zu verknüpfen. Letztendlich hat die Forschergruppe die Aufgabe, aufzuklären, in welchem Maße politische Veränderungen auf den Medienwandel zurückzuführen sind. Damit trägt sie dazu bei, die Position der deutschen Kommunikationswissenschaft in der internationalen Wissenschaftskommunikation zu stärken.

 

Für Forschung qualifizieren!

Die Forschergruppe ist einer der Orte, an denen der Nachwuchs für die internationale politische Kommunikationsforschung ausgebildet wird – in Form von Promotionen und Habilitationen. Die Qualifikation vollzieht sich vor allem in der empirischen Forschung der einzelnen Projekte. Zusätzlich wird ein Qualifikationsprogramm angeboten, das an die Bedingungen regionaler Verteilung angepasst und auf den Bedarf der Promovenden abgestimmt ist.

 

Im Verbund forschen!

Zusätzlich entwickelt die Forschergruppe in und mit ihrer Arbeit ein Muster für die Organisation kooperativer Forschung unter den Bedingungen regional verteilter Kapazitäten – als einem Prototyp für Verbundforschung in kleinen Fächern. Daraus sollen Schlussfolgerungen für die Forschungsorganisation erwachsen.

 

Strategie: Wie will die Forschergruppe ihre Ziele erreichen und wovon lässt sie sich dabei leiten?

 

Eine Integration in sechs Dimensionen ist der Weg zum Ziel, den die Forschergruppe unter Berücksichtigung der Rahmenbedingungen und der forschungsethischen Werte eingeschlagen hat. In jeder dieser Integrationen sieht sie Entwicklungschancen für die einzelnen Projekte und für die Forschergruppe insgesamt.

  • Integration von analytischen Perspektiven: Die Forschergruppe sieht sich als einen der Kerne des kommunikationswissenschaftlichen Teils der politischen Kommunikationsforschung und steht dabei in enger Beziehung zur Politikwissenschaft. Sie verknüpft unterschiedliche Perspektiven, unter denen politische Online-Kommunikation untersucht werden kann, und zwar Mikro-, Meso- und Makroperspektive. Sie lässt sich dabei leiten von einer grundsätzlichen Gleichberechtigung der Perspektiven und sieht die Notwendigkeit, mit unterschiedlichen Herangehensweisen ihre gemeinsame Fragestellung zu bearbeiten.
  • Integration von Methoden: Die Forschergruppe verknüpft stark und schwach standardisierte empirische Verfahren. Sie lässt sich davon leiten, dass methodischer Pluralismus erforderlich ist, um komplexe kommunikative Prozesse zu untersuchen. Sie unterstreicht dabei aber die Notwendigkeit genereller methodologischer Normen für die Sozialwissenschaften, insbesondere der Norm, dass alle Vorgehensweisen eine intersubjektive Gültigkeit der Ergebnisse sicher stellen müssen.
  • Integration von etablierten Forschern und Nachwuchsforschern: Die Forschergruppe setzt sich zusammen aus Forschern, die über langjährige Erfahrung verfügen, Forschern, die erst seit kurzem eigenständig forschen, und Forschern, die im Rahmen der Forschergruppe zu eigenständiger Forschung  ausgebildet werden. Sie lässt sich leiten von der Idee der Gleichberechtigung der Teilnehmer am wissenschaftlichen Diskurs, in dem prinzipiell nichts anderes zählt als das bessere Argument. In einem so rasch sich verändernden Bereich wie der Online-Kommunikation  ist es besonders wichtig, dass digital immigrants und digital natives zusammenarbeiten.
  • Integration in die internationale Wissenschaftskommunikation: Die Forschergruppe hat ihre Wurzeln im deutschen Sprachraum und sieht ihren Schwerpunkt auch weiterhin dort. Zugleich baut sie ein Netz an internationalen Kooperationspartnern auf und richtet sich auf die internationale Wissenschaftskommunikation aus. Sie lässt sich davon leiten, dass Wissenschaftskommunikation inter-national  ist, also von der Vielfalt nationaler Bezüge lebt.
  • Integration von Standorten: Die Forschergruppe verknüpft ihre verschiedenen Standorte durch eine komplexe Kommunikationsstruktur, in der sich online-gestützte Platt-formen und Kommunikation in Kopräsenz auf Tagungen ergänzen. Die Forschergruppe lässt sich leiten von der Akzeptanz regionaler Verteilung. Denn dies eröffnet die Chance, örtlich unterschiedliche Gegebenheiten in die Arbeit einzubeziehen, zum Beispiel mit verschiedenen Fächern an den jeweiligen Universitäten zu kooperieren oder Nachwuchswissenschaftler aus unterschiedlichen Fachkulturen zu gewinnen.
  • Integration von Koordination und Selbstständigkeit: Die Forschergruppe weiß um die Vorteile, die eine Forschergruppe bietet. Erst durch Koordination kann der Mehrwert gemeinsamer Forschung realisiert werden. Zugleich aber muss der notwendige Freiraum der einzelnen Forscher gewahrt bleiben. Sie lässt sich leiten von der Vorstellung, dass ein produktives Forschungsnetz beides braucht: starke Knoten und starke Verbindungen.

 

Programm: Bis wann soll was erreicht sein?

 

Die Forschergruppe hat ihre Integrationsstrategie in ein Programm übersetzt, das die Zielerreichung in zwei Phasen vorsieht.

In der Phase der Theorieerprobung 2011 – 2014 wird die Forschergruppe prüfen, ob die klassischen theoretischen Ansätze der Kommunikationswissenschaft und angrenzender Wissenschaften tauglich sind für die Analyse der Online-Welt. Sie wird Theorien, Methoden und empirische Ergebnisse in einem Inventar dokumentieren und dabei die Verbindungen zwischen den analytischen Elementen deutlich machen.
Sie wird gegen Ende dieser ersten Phase ihre Arbeit vor allem in projektspezifischen Publikationen und Beiträgen zu internationalen Konferenzen dokumentieren. Sie wird außerdem zeigen können, dass die Qualifikationsarbeiten auf einem guten Wege sind. In drei Jahren sieht sich die Forschergruppe also an einem Punkt, an dem sie in den Teilprojekten und als Verbund ihre Zeit erkennbar gut genutzt hat. Dies wird sie zwischenzeitlich auf ihren jährlichen internen Tagungen überprüfen, die als Meilensteine fungieren. Zum Abschluss dieser Phase wird sich die Forschergruppe Ende 2013 der Begutachtung ihrer Arbeit stellen, auf deren Grundlage über die Fortsetzung bis 2017 entschieden wird.

 

Am Ende der zweiten Phase, der Phase der Theoriebildung 2014 – 2017, wird das Konzept des Verbunds von Theorien zum Wandel der politischen Kommunikation konkretisiert und substanziiert sein. Das setzt nicht nur voraus, dass die Arbeit der einzelnen Teilprojekte abgeschlossen werden kann und in Aufsätzen und Qualifikationsarbeiten dokumentiert ist. Darüber hinaus ist es erforderlich, die vielfältigen Einzelergebnisse zu einem Gesamtbild der politischen Online-Kommunikation zusammenzubinden. Damit können empirisch begründete Antworten auf die leitende Fragestellung gegeben werden. Auf Grundlage einer grundlegenden Evaluation der Forschungsorganisation kann dann auch beurteilt werden, in welchem Verhältnis Aufwand und Ertrag bei dieser Form der Organisation von Forschung stehen.
Im Frühjahr 2017 wird zu entscheiden sein, ob und wie die Arbeit der Forschergruppe fortzusetzen ist. Grundsätzlich sieht sich die Forschergruppe auch über 2017 hinaus als einen Kern kooperativer Verbundforschung. Zwischen der ersten und der zweiten Phase wird diese Perspektive zu konkretisieren sein.